Foo Fighters Announce New Album ‘Sonic Highways’ for November

By Kevin Rutherford

Turns out Sonic Highways isn’t just the name of Foo Fighters‘ upcoming HBO series chronicling the recording of their new record.

The band announced today (Aug. 11) that their eighth album will also be titled Sonic Highways, keeping with the theme of the upcoming TV series.

The new album is planned for a Nov. 10 release date.

Related: Hear the First Eight Seconds of the Foo Fighters’ New Album

“This album is instantly recognizable as a Foo Fighters record, but there’s something deeper and more musical to it,” frontman Dave Grohl said in a release about the record. “I think that these cities and these people influenced us to stretch out and explore new territory, without losing our ‘sound’.”

Sonic Highways includes eight different songs, with production from Butch Vig.

The cover art for the album was revealed last week. It includes a rendering of a massive city, with elements of multiple cities across the U.S. included.

sonic highways Foo Fighters Announce New Album Sonic Highways for November

The album is now available for pre-order and will also be available on vinyl. The first eight seconds of Sonic Highways can currently be heard via YouTube.


The Sonic Highways HBO special is scheduled to debut Oct. 17 at 11 p.m.

Foo Fighters Sonic Highways Track List

1. Something From Nothing
2. The Feast and The Famine
3. Congregation
4. What Did I Do?/God As My Witness
5. Outside
6. In The Clear
7. Subterranean
8. I Am A River


More From

5 Best Revenge Pop Songs
Your Mission: Win A VIP Trip To NY
5 Pop/Country Duets We'd Love to Hear

Listen Live