Listen: Lenny Kravitz Debuts Lyric Video for New Track ‘The Chamber’

By Courtney E. Smith

With Strut, Lenny Kravitz‘s first new album in three years, out in September, the singer is prepping for its release with a new single, released today.

“The Chamber,” Strut‘s first single, also has an accompanying lyric video.

The song features a grooving bassline, with Kravitz lamenting a lover who “put one in the chamber and shot my heart of glass.”

Related: Sting, Lenny Kravitz & the Flaming Lips Pay Tribute to the Beatles on ‘Letterman’

Strut is produced and arranged by Kravitz, who also plays guitar, bass, keyboards and drums and percussion on the album. For an extra ear, he invited Bob Clearmountain (David BowieBruce Springsteen) to mix it.

In a statement issued by his publicist, Kravitz said of Strut, “This record brought me back to a place of what I love so much about music, back to the feelings I had when I was in high school. It’s a real rock & roll record – it’s raw, it’s got soul and it came together really quickly.”

Additionally, Kravitz announced he will mount a world tour in support of the album to start Oct. 22 in Moscow, continuing through Dec. 11 in France. No North American dates have yet been announced.

Strut is out Sept. 23.

Strut Track List
1. “Sex”
2. “The Chamber”
3. “Dirty White Boots”
4. “New York City”
5. “The Pleasure and the Pain”
6. “Strut”
7. “Frankenstein”
8. “She’s a Beast”
9. “I’m a Believer”
10. “Happy Birthday”
11. “I Never Want To Let You Down”
12. “Ooo Baby Baby”


More From

10 Summer Tours We’re Psyched to See
10 Songs Kanye West Must Perform on Tour
rage collabs drip pan

Listen Live