Hear Spoon’s Bluesy New Song ‘Rent I Pay’ & Watch Unofficial Video

By Shannon Carlin

Spoon recently debuted their new song “Rent I Pay” at a show hosted by NPR at NYC’s Le Poisson Rouge, and now they’re treating fans to a studio version of their latest track.

The bluesy guitar-heavy song, which kicks off their new album, They Want My Soul (out Aug. 5), has Britt Daniel repeatedly proclaiming, ““That’s the rent I pay/Like my brother say.”

Related: Governors Ball 2014: A Chat About What Worked and What Didn’t

The band has already previewed two tracks off their follow-up to 2010’s Transference live, including “Rainy Taxi” and “Knock Knock Knock,” which they played at this past weekend’s Governors Ball.


They Want My Soul is their first record to feature an outside producer in Joe Chiccarelli, who has worked with Beck and the Strokes, and Dave Fridmann, who has worked with The Flaming Lips.

The band also shared an “unofficial” music video for the song.

Check out the tracklist for their upcoming album, which includes a cover of the 1961 song “I Just Don’t Understand” sung originally by Ann-Margaret and later covered by The Beatles, below.

They Want My Soul tracklist:
01. Rent I Pay
02. Inside Out
03. Rainy Taxi
04. Do You
05. Knock Knock Knock
06. Outlier
07. They Want My Soul
08. I Just Don’t Understand
09. Let Me Be Mine
10. New York Kiss


More From Radio.com

5 Best Revenge Pop Songs
Your Mission: Win A VIP Trip To NY
5 Pop/Country Duets We'd Love to Hear

Listen Live