Elvis Costello, Marcus Mumford & Jim James Tackle Unreleased Dylan Lyrics

By Scott T. Sterling

Two dozen unreleased Bob Dylan lyrics will be recorded by a veritable supergroup comprised of Elvis Costello, My Morning Jacket‘s Jim James, Marcus Mumford, T-Bone Burnett, Rhiannon Giddens of Carolina Chocolate Drops and Taylor Goldsmith of Dawes.

According to L.A. Times, the Dylan lyrics are from 1967, circa his Basement Tapes sessions, with the songwriter giving the ambitious project his full blessing.

The endeavor is expected to produce a full-length release, Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes, which is expected to arrive before the end of 2014. Among the song titles include “Florida Key,” “Card Shark” and “Hi-De-Ho.”

“These are not B-level Dylan lyrics,” Burnett told the Times. “They’re lyrics he just never got around to finishing.”

Also on the docket is an accompanying documentary film, Lost Songs: The Basement Tapes Continued, directed by Sam Jones (responsible for 2002 Wilco doc I Am Trying to Break Your Heart) which will air on Showtime sometime this year, as well.




More From Radio.com

5 Best Revenge Pop Songs
Your Mission: Win A VIP Trip To NY
5 Pop/Country Duets We'd Love to Hear

Listen Live