Kanye West ‘Yeezus’ Leaks, New Tracklist Surfaces

View Comments
Kanye West at Governors Ball 2013. (Photo by Maria Ives,

Kanye West at Governors Ball 2013. (Photo by Maria Ives,

Shannon Carlin
Shannon Carlin Shannon is an associate music producer for
Read More Interviews
Mercury Nashville Kacey Musgraves
(JEAN-SEBASTIEN EVRARD/AFP/Getty Images) Gene Simmons
(Andrew H. Walker/Getty Images for Barneys New York) Courtney Love
Radio Stations
bestof2013sofar dl 625 r2 Kanye West Yeezus Leaks, New Tracklist SurfacesBEST OF 2013 (SO FAR)
ooocarousel 150x150 radio 100 ash Kanye West Yeezus Leaks, New Tracklist SurfacesRADIO.COM 100
310x310-radioEssentials_profilesARTIST PROFILES YT Button[2]RADIO.COM CHANNEL

Kanye West tried to keep the details of his new record Yeezus under wraps, but he just couldn’t keep it from leaking. The rapper’s latest record is now available for anyone with an Internet connection, via online torrent sites, five days before its official release this Tuesday (June 18).

When heard the album for the first time at a recent listening session in New York City, we described the first part of the album, which included “New Slaves, as being “reminiscent of Ministry,” and the band’s “gritty, dark ’80s industrial sound.” The second half of the album was might lighter, “verging on dance floor hits but only in the most retro, ’80s house music influenced sense of the term.”

RELATED: From Daft Punk To Q-Tip, All The Kanye West ‘Yeezus’ News That’s Fit To Print

Though Kanye also tried hard to keep the album’s final tracklist a mystery until the official release day — not even allowing those in the listening session to have one — it seems that has also leaked thanks to Swedish retailer, according to MTV. But then again, if you’re listening to an illegal download of the album, a tracklist is kind of small potatoes for camp Kanye, no?

The still unconfirmed tracklist, which has surfaced online via a photo of the supposed back cover of the album, shows ten tracks, many of which appeared on a leaked tracklist from earlier in the week, including “On Sight,” which was mistakenly spelled “On Site” on the original leak. This one also lists those who appear on the album including previously confirmed guests like Bon IverChief Keef, Chicago rapper King Louie (listed here as King L), Kid Cudi and Daft Punk, who are listed on three songs.

This new tracklist also shows that Watch The Throne collaborator Frank Ocean appears on “New Slaves,” and John Legend (another past collaborator) had a hand in the album’s closing track, supposedly titled “Bound 2.”

Kanye and his record label, Def Jam, have yet to comment on the leak. Yeezus is set to officially come out this Tuesday, June 18.

‘Ye, Jay-Z and Def Jam famously went to extreme methods to prevent a leak of Watch The Throne in 2011.

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus