LeAnn Rimes Announces New Album ‘Spitfire’

View Comments
(Jeff Gentner/Getty Images)

(Jeff Gentner/Getty Images) Interviews
Mercury Nashville Kacey Musgraves
(JEAN-SEBASTIEN EVRARD/AFP/Getty Images) Gene Simmons
(Andrew H. Walker/Getty Images for Barneys New York) Courtney Love
Radio Stations
bestof2013sofar dl 625 r2 LeAnn Rimes Announces New Album SpitfireBEST OF 2013 (SO FAR)
ooocarousel 150x150 radio 100 ash LeAnn Rimes Announces New Album SpitfireRADIO.COM 100
310x310-radioEssentials_profilesARTIST PROFILES YT Button[2]RADIO.COM CHANNEL

With her personal life garnering more attention than her music as of late, it’s been two years since LeAnn Rimes released her last album. But this week Rimes announced the release of her latest full length, Spitfire.

“This album is a peek into my world; who I am, what I’ve gone through, what my emotions are,” Rimes said in a letter from her record label. “It’s an intimate conversation between me and whoever’s listening.  I hope I’m saying things that are hard for others to express.  It certainly took me a lot of work to get to this point. And it’s still easier to sing these thoughts than it is to say them out loud.  The intimacy in my music is just beginning.”

Spitfire, out June 4, feature a range of collaborators from Rob Thomas of Matchbox 20 to Alison Krauss and Dan Tyminski to the signature guitar stylings of Jeff Beck. Leann has had quite an emotional ride the past few years including a stint in a thirty-day treatment facility last year, but she has used that journey as inspiration in her songwriting.

Spitfire covers a range of emotions that I’ve experienced in my lifetime, from anger to love, from frustrations to letting go,” Rimes said. “[My record producer] and I talked about telling that story in chronological order, but that didn’t work sonically, so he said, ‘It’s the truth…in no particular order.’ And isn’t that what life is about?”

Watch a behind the scenes video of Rimes recording her new song,”Borrowed,”  along with the album’s tracklist below.

1. Spitfire
2.  What Have I Done? with Alison Krauss and Dan Tyminsky
3. Gasoline & Matches with Rob Thomas and Jeff Beck
4. Borrowed
5. You Ain’t Right
6. I Do Now
7. Where I Stood
8. You’ve Ruined Me
9. Bottle
10. A Waste Is A Terrible Thing To Mind
11. Just A Girl Like You
12. God Takes Care of Your Kind
13. Who We Really Are
14.  Borrowed (Live) – Bonus Track

Physical copies of Spitfire will be sold exclusively at Walmart and will be available June 4, 2013.

Adam Greenwald, BUZ’N @ 102.9 / Minneapolis

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,930 other followers

Select a Live Stream

News, Sports and Talk Radio