Bikini-Clad Starlets Break The Law To Skrillex Soundtrack

View Comments
Selena Gomez, Vanessa Hudgens, Ashley Benson, Rachel Korine (Alberto Pizzoli/Getty )Images

Selena Gomez, Vanessa Hudgens, Ashley Benson, Rachel Korine (Alberto Pizzoli/Getty )Images

Scott T. Sterling
Scott T. Sterling Scott is the rock associate producer for
Read More

Details have emerged regarding the soundtrack of provocative new film Spring Breakers, and it’s heavy on the EDM bass of dubstep, courtesy Grammy-winning producer Skrillex.

The movie, which stars James Franco and former Disney Channel actresses Selena Gomez and Vanessa Hudgens, has courted controversy due to the abundance of risqué themes like armed robbery, drug use and wanton sexuality over the course of an ill-fated college spring break. The film’s director, Harmony Korine, is no stranger to such cinema scandal, having written such contentious flicks as Kids and directing Gummo.

For the movie’s soundtrack, Skrillex has teamed up with film and TV music composer Cliff Martinez, the one-time drummer for the Red Hot Chili Peppers best known for scoring popular 2011 Ryan Gosling thriller, Drive.

“I think this film is going to turn a lot of heads in many ways. It was a lot of fun to work with Harmony because he gave me the freedom and trust to do whatever I wanted,” Skrillex said in a statement via Rolling Stone: “It was also super awesome having Cliff Martinez involved too. I think the work he did on Drive was spectacular and I was a big fan before I knew he was coming onto this project.”

The Spring Breakers soundtrack boasts new Skrillex tracks like “Smell This Money” and “With You, Friends (Long Drive)” alongside collaborations with Martinez, including “Sons Of Scary Monsters,” which references 2010 Skrillex single “Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites,” also on the soundtrack.  A clip of the new song can be heard in the racy (and NSFW) red band trailer for the movie, due in theaters on March 22.

Other artists on the soundtrack (set for release on March 19) include Gucci Mane (who has a role in the film), Wocka Flocka Flame, Skrillex protégés and Coachella act Birdy Nam Nam, Meek Mill and Ellie Goulding.

The complete Spring Breakers track listing:

1. “Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites” – Skrillex
2. “Rise And Shine Little B***h” – Music by Cliff Martinez & Skrillex
3. “Pretend It’s A Video Game” – Cliff Martinez
4. “With You, Friends (Long Drive)” – Skrillex
5. “Hangin’ With Da Dopeboys” – Dangeruss with James Franco
6. “Bikinis & Big Booties Y’all” – Music by Cliff Martinez & Skrillex
7. “Never Gonna Get This P***y” – Cliff Martinez
8. “Goin’ In (Skrillex Goin’ Down Remix)” – Birdy Nam Nam
9. “F**k This Industry” – Waka Flocka Flame
10. “Smell This Money (Original Mix)” – Skrillex
11. “Park Smoke” – Skrillex
12. “Young N****s” – Gucci Mane (feat. Waka Flocka Flame)
13. “Your Friends Ain’t Gonna Leave With You” – Cliff Martinez
14. “Ride Home” – Skrillex
15. “Big Bank” – Meek Mill, Pill, Torch & Rick Ross (feat. French Montana)
16. “Son Of Scary Monsters” – Music by Cliff Martinez & Skrillex
17. “Big ‘Ol Scardy Pants” – Cliff Martinez
18. “Scary Monsters on Strings” – Music by Skrillex
19. “Lights” – Ellie Goulding

View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus